Getting older, better look over your shoulder…

Getting older, better look over your shoulder…I’m coming to realize as I’m getting older I have more responsibility. I think I always knew this, but it’s just finally starting to hit me. What I mean in this quote is that as we get older we have hidden responsibilities and costs, therefore you better continuously look over your shoulder because you never know when one might pop up.

Being finally old enough, I am beginning go drive. This is a very exciting time in my life, and at first it was all just fun and games. But now I’m having to pay for gas and insurance. Although I always knew there would be a cost in driving, I don’t think I was prepared for how much it actually would be or the hidden costs. I’m thankful that I have a job so I can afford these costs, however in just a matter of months I seem to have practically spent my entire savings.

It’s not just driving that seems to be adding up, but it is the most in terms of financial stability. I will also begin to have to start paying my phone bill, and I already pay for my clothes and school supplies. I know this just sounds like I’m being a whiny teenager, and yes I know I shouldn’t but I compare myself to other kids. Being in highschool you don’t ever think you’ll have to cover costs like these, and it’s hard to learn just how to manage your budget and still have fun on a low income. I know it seems hard now but it’s teaching me responsibility and I’ll be better prepared for the future. However I warn you younger people now, look over your shoulder because life doesn’t come with a warning label and there are hidden costs and responsibility everywhere.

 

 

One thought on “Getting older, better look over your shoulder…

Leave a Reply

